Muskoka 70.3 Ironman 2010 Race Report

17 09 2010

The Muskoka 70.3 was the last triathlon of 2010 for me. I had a great time in Hunstville, where the race took place.

This was the third time I participated and, if possible, I’ll participate again. It is a great race. I love the lake, the bike and well, the run isn’t as bad as the first year! Best of all, it isn’t hot, which is great for me too.

This year was a bit like last year for me in the sense that I didn’t have enough rest after the Ironman. Some people can recover pretty fast, but I take some time to get back in the training mood after a full Ironman. As you can see on my previous posts, I had a really hard time to get back to my training routine and quite honestly, never really got back to it.

As far as the race went…

Swim: 2km, 33:20 min, 1:40 min/100m

This was my worse pace this year. Even at Lake Placid, I’ve averaged 1:36min/100 for double the distance! But it wasn’t a bad swim. I was a couple minutes faster than last year and it was a breeze. I only found the last buoy a bit far, but never got hit or hit anyone either. I was on the forth wave, started with a sprint, left most of the guys behind and swam with a few guys around me.

I was surprised to see that I was 21st out of 126 on my age group, usually I’m much further ahead (on the swim!) The first on my wave was 28:03, but every one else on my wave was ~32 min.

T1: 6:09

Sounds like much and it is. But the fact is that the lake is quite a ways from the transition area, and uphill! I don’t think I waste too much time, but I just didn’t run uphill.

Bike: 3:07:06, 30.1 km/h, 223W

About the same as last year, about 10W less and .3 km/h slower, but marginally the same.

I started strong, both power and heart! My HR was at ~170 bpm for the first 15 min, but there wasn’t much I could do about it, since the course starts with a bunch of hills, so I just sucked it up and kept going. I wasn’t feeling tired or out of breath, it is just that after a long swim, when I stand-up my HR jumps up and takes a while to settle. The hills didn’t help.

I tried to to maintain a 230W average, which I did for about one hour and a half, but then I started to slowly lose power. The second half I just averaged 217W. Interesting is that the HR drop considerably too:

Yellow: Power, Red: Heart Rate, Orange: Altitude (Click to Zoom)

My strategy was pretty faulty, I know… but I wanted a good performance on the bike and went all out! My FTP is ~240 these days, so 230W for three hours would be pushing my limit. But that came with a cost…

Anyhow, at end of the bike, like 3km to finish, I passed Bruno. He looked like a Zombie. I thought he had had a flat, but as it turns out he had a big crash. He hit the gravel and then the grass… and then a stomp and flew over it with the bike on top of him. Fortunately he was fine and the bike was “OK”, he manged to finish the remaining 20km with it.

The Flying Bruno Bug!

T2 2:27

I got in to to T2 and Bruno was just a few meters behind me. He was psychologically beaten. We asked me if I could run with him, and I just though “Do you mean can I keep up? No!”. So T2 was going to be fast, but Bruno had forgotten to leave his bike spare tire (that had fallen off during his crash) and went back to leave it at the bike. I was just waiting at the exit of the transition… probably just 20 seconds, but it felt like an eternity.

Run 2:09:09 hrs, 6:08 min/km

I have to say the run was hard and fun! I pushed way to hard on the bike and I knew it. I was lucky that Bruno was with me, so he kept me honest. “Fortunately” his leg was hurting, so I could actually keep up with him. Funny how triathlons are, I can kick his butt in the swim and bike, but I can’t keep up on the run!

Anyhow, the run was two guys complaining about their pain all the way, but we chatted a lot, which made it much easier. We kept a 6:08 pace almost all the way. We started at 5:50, but by km 7 we were already at unde 6 min/km pace. Walk, chat, run protocol!

All things considered, this was an awesome race. The weather was fine and I got to talk to a great friend for 2:09 hours! We crossed the finish line together, both happy that it was done! Another 70.3 under our belts!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 09 2010
Hans Winter

Thanks Carlos. I want to do it next year again, but I’ll sign-up later in 2011. There might be some “little” things appearing by then! 😉

18 09 2010
Carlos

This is what Team Sandbaggers is all about!

Next year I will be there with you guys again!

Leave a Reply

