Nice Day 3

29 06 2009

Day 3, not a good day. Beatriz, Brian, Angela and I drove through the bike course. That was a big mistake because:

  1. We didn’t eat properly during it (took us 4 hours)
  2. It wasn’t really any different from the computrainer, in fact a bit easier (some of the grades are very off in the computrainer)
  3. There are so many turns that Brian got sick, we even had to stop for him to… well, you know. As for me, I got back to the hotel with the biggest headache I have ever had. I hate to take pills, but I had to take a Tylenol.
  4. When we got back to the hotel, I still didn’t have time to eat. I had to get my bike and check it in.

One thing has to be said, it is a fantastic course. It is just beautiful!

When I finally check the bike in, it was 5pm. We started to look for a Italian restaurant, but they were all closed. We found a nice restaurant close to the hotel, but it was closed till 6pm! We did some groceries and went back to the hotel. My headache was getting worst, I took my second tylenol.

Around 6pm, we went back to the hotel and I tried to eat. However, even with 2 tylenos, my headache was getting really bad. I could not eat. I had maybe 1/4 of the meal and I was dying to go back to the hotel and lay down, but Beatriz was chatting to the owner (Italian guy) and his wife (from Brazil, Salvador). I finally said “Guys, I’m dying!”.

When we were finally leaving, a bunch of Brazilians showed up. They were going to do the race too. I think they did this course before and they all had done at least 4 Ironmen. Anyhow, at that point I just wanted to get back to the hotel.

At the hotel I just brushed my teeth and went to bed. It was 7:30 PM when I layed down. I sort of slept till 9:30, when I could not take it anymore. My head felt like my bike tire, with 130 PSI and pumping!

Beatriz was sleeping like a baby, but I had to wake her up. At this point I was 100% sure I wasn’t going to race the next day. I was trying to convince myself that “it was ok, there would be a next time”. This may sound like I’m exaggerating now, but trust me, I am not.

Beatriz woke up and asked me a bunch o “doctor’s” questions, and told me that chances were that I was having a migraine. Probably because I was tense or the car ride. She gave me two extra-strength tylenos at once, gave me a massage (my legs were very tied too). Afterwards she stayed beside me until I fell asleep. I must have been around 10 or 10:30pm. I past out completely.

At 3:30 I woke up, tired, but no headache!

Actions

Information

One response

29 06 2009
IM France – Race Report « Hans Winter’s Weblog

[…] France – Race Report 29 06 2009 If you haven’t, please read Nice Day 3 before you read […]

Leave a Reply

