Nice Day 2

26 06 2009

Today we woke up early and went to the beach for a quick swim. Unfortunately Caca couldn’t make it, but he said he is feeling much better, which is good news! I did meet with Brian and his wife tough.

IM Nice Swim Pactice

IM Nice Swim Pactice

I swam about 15 minutes, if that. I went out to the first boye and back. While I was in the water, I was feeling fine, but it was  very salty, which in one hand made the swim pretty fast, but in the other hand was very salty in my mouth. I made a huge effort not to swallow any water. When I got out of the water, I was not feeling well. Very dizzy and overall not well. I drank a bit of water and gave it a couple minutes and I was alright. I think it is the motion of the ocean, moving up and down with the waves. It will be very interesting after the first loop coming out of the water and back in… Brian didn’t have the same problem, neither did Beatriz and Angela. 

After the swim we went back to the village to register. Funny momment too, as I got a little nervous again. In general I have so many new things going on that I don’t think much about it. In general everyone is nice, it is unbelievable. Excellent atmosphere. We spoke to a feel other Canadians too, as they saw my Muskoka 70.3 cap and shirt, they come talk to us.

IM France Registration

IM France Registration

After registration, Brian and I went for a quick bike ride. Unfortunetely my bike was making a funny noise from the front wheel. It sound like the wheel was touching the brakes, but it wasn’t. It wasnt’ the magnet either. I was getting woried, so I decided to back to the IM France Fair, as there was a bike shop from Shimano doing adjustments (Free!).

I waited for about one hour to someone to look at my bike.I told Brian to do his bike workout without me as it wouldn’t be fair to him to waitthere. When my turn finally came, the guy looked at it and told me not to worry, it was most likely the valve vibrating and that the carbon from the wheels really amplifies the noise. He pushed a bit the tape that I had there for that exact reason, and after that… it the bike was fine.

I went for a 20km ride and back to the hotel to get something to eat. The rest of the day rested until the pasta dinner.

We went to the pasta dinner with Ignacio and his wife. Ignacio is an Argentinian guy that I met through the blog. He kindely offered us a ride to the dinner party. I didn’t see Brian at the dinner or Caca. I later found out that Caca didn’t go, he decided to stay home and rest. To be honest the dinner wasn’t that great. I was expecting some sort of speach or something, but nothing. The dinner at the 70.3 in Muskoka was much better organized.

IM France Dinner Party

Actions

Information

12 responses

28 06 2009
Shane

YOU DID IT – Awesome, Amazing, Unreal. Very proud of you. I was more excited to wake up and check on you then I was for my first race. I was checking on you every 20 minutes. I have to say you helped me get through mine. You’re time was safe, but I was thining of you when on the bike and really pushed it because I had nothing compared to what you were face.

Great Job Ironman!

28 06 2009
Marcos

From Km 21.1 to Km 31.6 Hans’ pace improved a bit, to 7:43min/km. Hey Hans, I think things are really hard huh? You have pretty much the same pace as me and I do not run above 7min/km if I still can run. I hope you are ok and healthy and now you are almost there! I know that 10 Km at this point is crazily difficult but you will be done soon, and then you can party the whole rest of the day and night…lol… See you at the finish line!

Caca’s pace dropped to 8.32min/km but he is still there! The temperature might be over 25 degrees by now which make things really tough.. But that make the victory bigger too…keep going!

Marcos

28 06 2009
Marcos

YES! Way to go Hans! Congratulations!!! The last 10.6Km of the marathon are defeated! And with a improvement in the pace to 7:35 min/km!!! Now IROMAN! Cacá is still not showing up in the finish line but I am sure he will make it! Hey Hans, now lots of rest, that will be wonderful, wont it? Great job, congratulations!!!

Marcos

28 06 2009
Marcos

Online Coverage – I am following Hans and Carlos Araujo (Cacá?). Right now, the final results of the bike has just showed up. Looks like they are close together, Hans 3 minutes ahead of Carlos. The last split of the bike was pretty fast, average speed almost at 40Km/h, so I guess both are good and strong. Now the toughest challenge starts, the marathon! Keep going guys!

Marcos

28 06 2009
Marcos

First split of the race, 10,5Km, 7,03 min/km, pretty much the same pace for Hans and Caca. It looks like things are hard and slower than planned, but not bad at all! Keeping this pace will result in around 5 hours for the marathon. That is not bad… Great work guys… lets keep it up!

Marcos

28 06 2009
Marcos

Wow, the pace went down to 8 min/km from 10,5 to 21Km, Hans and Caca might be running together as the pace is the same. Things seems to be really hard at the half mark… Hope both are well, I am sure they are very tired, lots of pain… but that is how it has to be… lets smash this ironman!

28 06 2009
Bruno

Hans, you are in the race right now – it was 9:30pm Toronto time when we realized you and Caca were waking up for breakfast, etc.

You should now be finishing the bike portion and getting into the marathon! Oh, boy…

Will check both your BIBs now to see where you’re at. \

Bruno.

27 06 2009
Marcos

Hey Hans… just few hours and there you go! This thing is big, take it easy, remember all training you went through… and… let the Iroman come! I wish a great and unforgettable competition to you and all those who are close to you!

Marcos

27 06 2009
bryan payne

Good luck tomorrow. I’m cheering you guys on. Eat it up and enjoy.

26 06 2009
Joe Pizzoferrato

Hans, the picture on the beach would of been a great picture if you didn’t take of your top. The suns reflection off your white chest is almost blinding. *smiles* Good luck buddy. I will be following your progress.

Joe

26 06 2009
Beatriz

Salut!

Did Hans mentioned it was hot today?? Angela and I ran around 9:30am, it was already 29C.. It’s beautiful along Promenade des Anglais, the Ironman’s run course, but I strugled myself with the heat. And there is no shade at all there!
It will be a well deserving Ironman title!

I have to say, the French people in Nice are extremely kind! Everywhere we went, hotel, restaurants, grocery shopping, the Ironman participants and the support crew, they are a pleasure to talk to! And if you ask somebody to take a picture they do it with a smile! I’ve been elsewhere in Europe before but I am delighted with the French people!

Beatriz

26 06 2009
Cacá

Hey Hans!

Don’t worry my friend, because at the first loop you will be welcoming the motion of the ocean, moving up and down with the waves. It is either that or 1,000 people going over you while you are trying to survive!!! Welcome to the magic of the MASS START IN AN IRONMAN!!!

:o)

Cacá

Leave a Reply

