Ready?

22 06 2009

I’m not really sure what to expect. I don’t think it really matters how much you train, it never seems to be enough.

I’ve been training specifically for this race since January. Many miles, a lot of sweet… here is what I have done:

January through June Training Volume

January through June Training Volume

Duration: 301 hours and 23 minutes

  • Bike: 4085 km
  • Run: 850 km
  • Swim: 162 km

The interesting is that yesterday I finished my first week of taper, which was just 12 hours of workouts. It included a “little” run of 1 hour and 40 minutes and I took really easy, I even cheated… I was 4 minutes short! 🙂

Well, now is time to rest. This week will be really short. I’ll be racing on Sunday, so I wont be doing much till then. Just a few short workouts, like 1 hour bike and 30 min for run and swim workouts.

I was supposed to peak two weeks ago, but with the Muskoka Long Course, the total time was less than what is was supposed to be for that week, but in other hand, I got much more intensity out of it.

I’m also changing my habits to see if I can beat the clock. I mean the time-zone! We have a 6 hour difference between Toronto and Nice, so I’m going to bed about half hour earlier each day. Today I woke up at 4:30, tomorrow I want to be up at 4 and 3:30 on Wednesday. That will leave me with about 3 hours to deal with when I get in Nice, which is much better than 6, specially considering that I only have 3 days before the race.

I find the trick is to wake up early and have breakfast right away, which reminds me, it is almost time for lunch (9:40 am).

Carbs, carbs and carbs!

I feel GREAT! Ready or not, here I come!!!

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 06 2009
Joe Pizzoferrato

Good luck guys. Enjoy the journy and savor the finish.

23 06 2009
Marcos

The countdown has started! Good luck Hans!

Marcos

23 06 2009
Hans Winter

Counting down, the bike is packed! :O

22 06 2009
Ignacio

Hans,

Don’t be scared!!! you are gonna do it fine.!! I’m at the airport off to Madrid, then Nice. Hope to be there tomorrow by 6 PM. See u.

Leave a Reply

