Let the games begin!

29 05 2009

The 2009 season is around the corner, I can smell it!

Sunday is the first race of the season and I’m really looking forward for it. I’m not sure what it is, if it is the swim, the bike, the run or purely the camaraderie! In my brief triathlon life (about 3 years now), I met so many nice people, it is unbelievable.

I remember my first race in Guelph in 2006. I was doing a try-a-tri and I was so nervous. I read the beginners guide and it was so overwhelming… the race, the transitions and the distances. But once I got to the field and saw all the smiling faces, the energy was even greater. Since then, I can only say I LOVE THIS SPORT!

No kidding, the first time I had to swim 375m, I had to do some breast strokes to recover. I was talking to a friend (Carlos), a former swimmer, and I could not believe that it was humanly possible to swim 375m non-stop freestyle.

Anyhow, I’m looking forward for the Milton Sprint and all the ones to follow. I’ll be leaving home early, around 7:15am with a few of my friends. It will be first race out with our team jersey too!Export

From our group, I think the guys that started last year will see the most improvement (i.e. Rogerio and Chris) as well as Fidel and his secret bike training camp. Not to mention that Carlos is becoming a monster in the run. I used to catch up with him every run, but to his credit, I don’t think I will be able to do it anymore. I’m going to miss the “fat guy”… he is half the man he used to be! 🙂

I’ll post a Race Report after the race. My predicted time is 1 Hour 50 Minutes, but who knows? It is hard predicting a race time after a long winter. I hope I do better, but the important thing is to enjoy it!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

