Ergvideo 2 – Threshold Test

19 01 2009

Last week I got a few more videos from Ergvideo, including the Threshold Test Video, which both, my wife and I used over the weekend.

What is it? Basically you fill out your best guess for FTP (Functional Threshold Power) or the value from your last test. It will be used only to determine how hard the warmup session will be. Then there is another video for the actual test:

  1. Warmup: 26 minutes video in Erg mode. The video has a series of intervals, including a 5 minutes at threshold power and a few other intervals. Since the video is in Erg mode, the output power is predetermined and the Computrainer will make sure it has enough resistance to generate that power.
  2. Threshold test: the threshold test is a time trial of 20 or 60 minutes (you chose). It is performed in CRS mode, with a constant 2% grade. This time, it is up to you to determine the power. The faster you go, the more power you generate. So you can actually shift gears to go harder. The video is just to “inspire” you, the effort/grade does NOT change with the grade of the video or effort of the rider.

At the end of the time trial, the software produces the following report (please don’t laugh out loud regarding my FTP, I’m pretty disappointed myself!):

Threshold Power Test Results

Date: Saturday, January 17, 2009

Test duration: 20 minutes

 

Name

Weight (lbs)

Weight (kg)

Threshold Power (W)

W/kg

  Hans Winter

  194

  88.1

  228

  2.59

Well, when I looked at the table from Hunter Allen and Andrew Coggan (Training and Racing with a Power Meter), I’m classified at Cat 5, just above Untrained Individual! 😦

Anyhow, what I like about the threshold test, is the consistence that it will provide me. I find that performing a consistent warmup and test will give me a good baseline. Every 4 weeks, I will test myself again and hopefully see some improvements.

I’ll use the FTP to customize my bike training, since I’m using Power Zones, instead of Heart Rate Zones:

Watts

%Threshold Power

Watts

Power Zones

Low

High

Low

high

Active Recovery  

55%

0

125

Endurance

56%

75%

126

171

Tempo

76%

90%

172

205

Lactate Threshold

91%

105%

206

240

VO2Max

106%

120%

241

274

Anaerobic Capacity

121%

150%

275

342

By the way, if you give your best (as I did), you basically want to die at the end. I started at an average of 250 to 260 Watts, but unfortunately at last few minutes, I fell to 240 Watts, and trust me, I tried to go harder. Anyhow, it is a good experience to next time, when I’ll try to a bit easier in the beginning and harder at the end.

Oh, yea, Beatriz tried it too and she is still swearing at me, since I was beside her during her whole test telling her that she could go faster! She was dead at the end too… and not very happy with me either! 🙂

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 01 2009
Beatriz

26 minutes of warming up was tuff but ok. I had training scheduled that day, did the intervals and the scenery kept me interested.

The test itself was difficult: I don’t have that much experience so can’t be confident my ‘all out’ was properly distributed in whole 20 minutes. Despite all the cheering Hans did, it felt pretty hard – pretty hard translates as came out of the bike with shaky legs. My result was ‘mid untrained’, at the bottom of the table 😦 They put the bar high…

I liked the messages posted along the test. If I could choose, I would rather see 20 minutes of something different than an endless strait road, thought can’t blame the video guys, it did look like Ontario…

I will definitely do it again in 4 weeks!

19 01 2009
Hans Winter

Bruno, based on Hunter Allen and Andrew Coogan, you should warmup for a 20 minutes at 65%HR , then 5 min all out, and then 10 min at Endurance pace.

I think the important is to be consistent before each Time Trial.

19 01 2009
Bruno

Did you try the 20 minutes or 60 minutes? I want to try too…

Why 26 minutes warming up doing intervals? You’ll get tired even before getting to the actual test- doesn’t sound like a “warm-up” to me.

Leave a Reply

