France… What have I done!

16 12 2008

This morning I rode the IM France course on my CompuTrainer for the first time… lets just say, I hope my course profile is completely off. I fast forwarded to KM 35, where I started and I could barely ride for one hour, in fact after one hour I bailed and loaded another course to cool down.

IM France Bike Course Profile

IM France Bike Course Profile

How am I suppose to do this after swimming 3.8 km? And I have to run a FULL marathon afterwards? Seriously, what was I thinking??

Ok, it was hard, bloody hard! But, when I built the course, I didn’t use a feature called “Elevation Noise Smoother”. Basically when you get you GPS data (from Google, in my case), elevation data is usually pretty inaccurate, or “noisy”. Small inaccuracies in altitude can lead to some pretty poor, choppy recreations of the ride. The elevation smoother that uses signal processing to remove the measurement noise from your altitude data. The diagram below compares the real GPS altimeter data to the smoothed data. *

 

Elevation Smooth

Elevation Smooth

That would explain why I had a lot of 15% grade hills and a lot of small downhills in the middle of the my journey to the top, which in reality shouldn’t be there (I hope). Anyhow, I just fixed the course with the “Elevation Noise Smoother”. Next workout I hope it will be a bit better! 

Here are the numbers for my workout (excluding the cool-down):

  • Total Time: 1:01:27.27
  • Distance: 21.34 km (from km 35 to 56.34)
  • SpinScan Avg: 63
  • Power Avg: 171 Watts
  • Speed Avg: 20.8
  • RPM Avg: 71
  • Calories: 601.95 Kcal (877 according to my polar)

* From CylcingPeak Software webpage: http://www.cyclingpeakssoftware.com/real3d/

Note: I’m having problems with the CompuTrainer HR receiver. Racermate is going to send me some replacement parts.

Actions

Information

17 responses

23 03 2011
Steve

Hans, I would be grateful too if you could pass on that IM France Bike course file. That is coming up this year ! Many Thanks. Steve

18 05 2009
Hector

Hello Hans,

I will be @ IM FRANCE this June also. Training is going great. I was reading your blog on the Bike and flight situation. I called US Airways and I had a similar issue, since I am going to stop in Munich. But all was resolved.

Keep training,

Hector

13 02 2009
Ignacio

Hi Hans, i found your blog googling, i am from Argentina, and going to IM FRance this year too. I own a CP and was looking for a 3d course of IM France.
Can you send it via email please?
Is it an official GPS course data?
Thank you in advance
Regards
Ignacio

27 01 2009
Bruno

Brian, Hans,

Right north of Brampton (Caledon) there’s a great place with lots of hills for you to train – there’s one place in particular with one very long hill where you see lots of cyclists training. Great for any kind of interval/hill training.

Here are a few examples: http://www.mapmytri.com/run/canada/on/caledon/324325 (love this name – hell and back! – but it’s a short ride, for training only)
http://www.mapmytri.com/ride/canada/on/caledon/37848264 – 73Km ride, lots of hills

These are two examples – on mapmytri there are tons around TO.

Bruno.

26 01 2009
brian

Hey..

congrats on signing up for IM France… I am going to be there too… I will also be at around the bay, and Milton, and well….

What are you going to do for hills, besides computrainer… where do you live? we should discuss the challenges of living in Ontario and training for a hilly IM in June.

brian

27 01 2009
Hans Winter

Hi Brian,

I’m mainly using the Computrainer, at least till the weather gets better. I’m in Toronto, so no hills here, but I have a buddy in Brampton, who showed me some good hills around there. When it gets a bit warmer, around April, I’ll be biking there for my weekend long rides. You’re more then welcome to join us.

Cheers!

20 01 2009
AKM

Whoops! I should read my emails befor eposting requests!

Thank you very much!

20 01 2009
AKM

Hans:

Would you mind possibly sending me your new course? I can do the Google Pedometer, but I do not have the version of course creator to convert the GPX output. My legs are still sore from the first attempt!

Regards,
Andrew

19 01 2009
Hans Winter

Hi Andrew,

I actually posted that courser there, but that is an earlier version. I used the “Interactive Ironman France Bike map” that was posted on their site, but then I realized that the course wasn’t really following the road precisely. Unfortunately you delete it after you put it there… I think I had a version called “IM France Elevation corrected” or something like that.

I used Google Pedometer in my latest version, which follows the road, instead of straight lines. Still, there may be some errors. I only rode the fist 55 kms… which are very hard!

Cheers,
Hans

19 01 2009
AKM

Hans:

How much does your course vary from the one posted on racermateinc.com? I tried that today (not actually going to do IM France though) and exploded after 40 miles! I’m wondering if this one has the spikes you are talking about (http://www.racermate.net/courses/IM%20France%202009%20from%20Official%20GPX%20File.3dc). It does have one BIG error – a grade of 269% that needs editing in the course creator!

Best of luck,
Andrew

7 01 2009
Bruno

I did 15 minutes of IM France in Hans’ Computrainer a few weekends ago (Km 45 of the course – where the big hills start), and I can tell you now – CHANGE YOUR CASSETTE!

5 01 2009
Carlos Araujo (Caca')

I still believe that IM France won’t be that hard… yeah, right!

Seriously now, are you going to change your cassette or not? I would do it right now so you can train with a better combination.

Cheers!

5 01 2009
Hans Winter

I’m thinking about it. Most likely, yes.
I will do a 2:15 hours training session this Saturday, which I will do in the IM France course. That will give me a good idea if I can do the whole course or not (since the first half is where all the hills are).

4 01 2009
Nat Faulkner

Hans,

I too have signed up for IM France. I have (will have access to) a computrainer, and would love to ‘borrow’ your profile to help me train for the event.

I’m in Bracebridge (Muskoka) but will be migrating for most of the year. I could hook you up with some beer, or powerbars in exchange.

Good luck with your training and let me know what I can help you with anything in exchange.

Nat

5 01 2009
Hans Winter

Hi Nat,
I just sent you the IM France course file. Let me know if you want any other course, I also have the 70.3 IM Muskoka! 😉

Cheers!

16 12 2008
Hans Winter

Bruno, I think it will be more like “holly crap, I did it?”
I was telling Caca I was a bit shocked after this workout. This is going to be VERY thought. 😦

16 12 2008
Bruno

He, he, he… if it was easy, everyone would do it. Funny how you used the sentence “I hope” twice in the same paragraph. You’ll hope a lot for it to finish in France.

On the other hand, you’ll be able to say: “I did it”.

Well, we hope so! 🙂

Leave a Reply

